First Active Club Manager to Receive ‘Service to Industry’

Share Post:

During the recent 2024 Clubs Queensland Awards for Excellence, Wayne Moffatt, the current Chief Executive at Club Helensvale, achieved a historic milestone by becoming the first active Club Manager to be honoured with the prestigious Service to Industry Award. This accolade places him in an esteemed group of individuals recognised for their exceptional contributions to the Club industry over the past three decades.

Wayne Moffatt has been a prominent figure in the Queensland Club industry since the inception of gaming. Originating from New South Wales, he has garnered acclaim for his pivotal role in transforming the Queensland Bowling Club landscape. Notably, he spearheaded the development of Club Pine Rivers (formerly the Pine Rivers Bowls Club), Queensland’s largest Bowls Club. 

More recently, Wayne has been instrumental in initiating a four-stage, $40 million redevelopment project at Club Helensvale, slated to become Queensland’s largest Bowls Club upon completion.

In addition to his noteworthy accomplishments in club management, Wayne has actively contributed to the development of the Queensland Club industry. He has been deeply involved in the Club Managers’ Association Australia and Clubs Queensland, where he served as an Industry Liaison Officer, offering guidance to numerous smaller clubs. Advocating for corporate governance and staff education, Wayne has served as a mentor to many emerging Club Managers, including Steve Ratcliffe, who now holds the position of CEO at Club Pine Rivers. 

Image credit: Clubs Queensland

Further, Wayne was among the few managers who pursued and attained his MBA in 2005, a testament to his commitment to professional development. His dedication and leadership were recognised when he was awarded Club Manager of the Year in the same year.

The Service to Industry Award has historically honored distinguished leaders who have made significant contributions to the Queensland Club industry since its establishment in 2008. Past recipients include:

2008: Paul O’Brien
2009: Penny Wilson
2011: Arthur Lovell
2012: Des Webb
2013: Ron Workman
2014: Len Ainsworth
2015: John Dickson
2017: Terry McDonald
2018: Wally Lee
2021: Cliff Biggs
2024: Wayne Moffatt


Related Articles

Scroll to Top